|
Author
|
Topic: E-Mail warning
|
Nixorbo
 UberMod DOOP Secretary

Since: Aug 2001
|
posted 06-09-2005 21:45 |
IP: Logged |
I don't know about anybody else, but I've been getting a wave of viro-spam from various "@peelified.com" addresses, such as management@peelified.com, admin@peelified.com, thisisarealaddressnotspam@peelified.com, and noreallythisemailissafetoopen@peelified.com, with subjects such as "account notice," "account suspension," etc.Do not open these emailsAny correspondance with the management of this board will have the name of the mod/admin in the actual address. ------------------ "That can't be Phish, it's not an hour long." -VelourFog "He has the special talent, though, of being able to help people and make them feel utterly stupid all at the same time. ... In short, he's a great moderator, but a terrible human being." -SlackJawedMoron "I think Nix should put "Everybody's Banned" in his sig somewhere. It's a good motto." -Nerd-o-rama
|
RS 2thou
 Professor
   
Since: Feb 2005
|
posted 06-10-2005 06:34 |
IP: Logged |
Makes me glad my email is through skateboard.com.au
|
Col. Klink
 Professor
   
Since: Oct 2003
|
posted 06-10-2005 09:49 |
IP: Logged |
I've been getting telephone calls from people with Suspiciously foreign accents trying to get me to change my phone carrier, does that count?
|
germanfryfan
 The Listmaker Urban Legend
    
Since: Apr 2004
|
posted 06-10-2005 10:26 |
IP: Logged |
No, I guess not.I've stopped counting the spam and virus mails I got during the last month. For some reason my Futurama mail account is the only one of my 15 accounts that recieves these though. Most attacks come from Italian servers, no a single one from peelified.com so far. Thanks for the warning. 
|
Futurama Crazy
 Bending Unit
  
Since: Mar 2005
|
posted 06-11-2005 10:28 |
IP: Logged |
Are they like those adverts saying YOU HAVE NEW E-MAILS WAITING FOR YOU CLICK HERE TO READ THEM ?[This message has been edited by Futurama Crazy (edited 06-12-2005).]
|
chay's head
 Liquid Emperor
    
Since: Jan 2004
|
posted 06-11-2005 13:01 |
IP: Logged |
no, what i think Nix is saying is that you will get an actual email claiming to be from PEEL admin.
|
Futurama Crazy
 Bending Unit
  
Since: Mar 2005
|
posted 06-11-2005 16:47 |
IP: Logged |
Oh ok thanks Chay's Head
|
IDIOTSVILLE
 Starship Captain
  
Since: Apr 2005
|
posted 06-13-2005 14:30 |
IP: Logged |
Big Up, For the Head's Up
|
Teral
 Helpy McHelphelp DOOP Secretary

Since: Sep 2001
|
posted 06-13-2005 19:50 |
IP: Logged |
It's the Mytob worm, the latest wave of mass email threats. I've had it 100's of times on my @leelazone.com.ar and @futurama-madhouse.com.ar accounts for the past 10 days.This worm sends itself automatically to every contact person in the infected computer, using headings such as - "Your Account is Suspended"
- "*DETECTED* Online User Violation"
- "Your Account is Suspended For Security Reasons"
It then changes the sender adress to the same domain as the the recipient has (in Nix's case @peelified.com) with "admin", "service", "info", etc at the name. More info about Mytob As always don't click the attached file. Update your Anti-Virus software regularly. If you don't have an AV-program, get AVG Free now. In conclusion, I think Nix (and the other mod's) are the only ones who will get this from @peelified.com, but keep an eye out for mails from your own domain.
|
Nasty Pasty
 Space Pope
     
Since: Mar 2004
|
posted 06-13-2005 21:19 |
IP: Logged |
Thanks for the heads-up Nix. I just got an email like that minutes after reading your post.
|
Andy1234
 Starship Captain
  
Since: Mar 2005
|
posted 06-16-2005 12:12 |
IP: Logged |
it says on it that some subjects could be: Your Account is Suspended *DETECTED* Online User Violation Your Account is Suspended For Security Reasons Warning Message: Your services near to be closed. Important Notification Members Support Security measures Email Account Suspension Notice of account limitation [random characters]
so, if you receive any emails like this, make sure you know it's legit before opening it.
|
David A
 Urban Legend
    
Since: May 2002
|
posted 06-17-2005 04:26 |
IP: Logged |
Fortunately, I make it a policy to never check my email.
|
Jonny Wobbs
 Bending Unit
  
Since: Jun 2005
|
posted 06-18-2005 09:34 |
IP: Logged |
well i havn't recevied any yet.....
|
winna
 Urban Legend
    
Since: May 2001
|
posted 06-18-2005 12:24 |
IP: Logged |
Good, I hope your computer gets virusfucked Jonny Wobbs.
|
Jicannon
 Urban Legend
    
Since: Jun 2004
|
posted 06-19-2005 00:43 |
IP: Logged |
quote: Originally posted by David A: Fortunately, I make it a policy to never check my email.
*high-five*
|
Samoszl unregistered
|
posted 08-09-2005 06:48 |
IP: Logged |
Fortunately, I make it a policy to never check my emailgimme some skin thats a very good idea
|
Zogonif
 Professor
   
Since: Sep 2003
|
posted 08-09-2005 09:06 |
IP: Logged |
quote: Originally posted by Samoszl: Fortunately, I make it a policy to never check my email
If thats the case then why the hell do you have a Email address ?????
|
M0le
 Urban Legend
    
Since: Nov 2003
|
posted 08-12-2005 02:27 |
IP: Logged |
To confuse people like you.
|
Zogonif
 Professor
   
Since: Sep 2003
|
posted 08-12-2005 03:35 |
IP: Logged |
How can i be confused by that, When i'm not even confused to begin with
|
El Zilcho
 Professor
   
Since: Apr 2003
|
posted 08-12-2005 12:01 |
IP: Logged |
You asked "why the hell" and ended with five question marks. If that doesn't scream "confused," I'm Queen Latifah.(NOTE: I am not actually Queen Latifah. Just so's you know.)
|
ebotron
 Bending Unit
  
Since: May 2005
|
posted 08-14-2005 14:06 |
IP: Logged |
my mom's buisness has been getting alot of these I suggest you look up "domain name hi-jackers"
|
Teral
 Helpy McHelphelp DOOP Secretary

Since: Sep 2001
|
posted 08-14-2005 14:49 |
IP: Logged |
Domain name theft is a big nuisance (particular when old Futurama sites such as Futurama Outlet is the victims), but that's not the issue here.
|
SiliconFuRy
 Starship Captain
  
Since: Aug 2005
|
posted 08-19-2005 13:17 |
IP: Logged |
Yep, I had a bunch of those buzzing around at Agilent, but it is down to that Virus spoofing the from address, and not domain name hijacking. This can be found out rather easily with some trickery.[This message has been edited by SiliconFuRy (edited 08-19-2005).]
|
Dan1248
 Professor
   
Since: Aug 2005
|
posted 08-19-2005 18:52 |
IP: Logged |
Thankfully I haven't recieved any, yet...
|
benderfender
 Bending Unit
  
Since: Aug 2005
|
posted 09-16-2005 14:41 |
IP: Logged |
i have about 62 i just blocked them all
|
Dan1248
 Professor
   
Since: Aug 2005
|
posted 09-16-2005 15:22 |
IP: Logged |
quote: Originally posted by benderfender: i have about 62 i just blocked them all
I think know thats a lie[This message has been edited by Dan1248 (edited 09-16-2005).]
|
winna
 Urban Legend
    
Since: May 2001
|
posted 09-17-2005 05:59 |
IP: Logged |
Don't [drujnk] fuck with me Dan... I own your collective PEEL ass.
|